Nurses Week Awards

Every year, MedStar Good Samaritan Hospital celebrates National Nurses Week. At this time, we honor the legacy of nursing pioneer Florence Nightingale and recognize the associates in our nursing staff who serve our patients with the utmost care and compassion.

For this year’s celebration, we hosted many festivities including the Nursing Awards Luncheon, during which several members of our nursing leadership announced winners for Nurse of the Year, Caring Nurse, Trusted Nurse, Advancing Practice Nurse, Rookie of the Year, and the DAISY Nurse Leader Award. In addition to awarding our nurses, we also honored one care associate with the Tech of the Year Award. The winners were nominated by their fellow associates who wrote compelling stories about their peers, and after reading the entries, several members of the Professional Development Council selected the winners.

Here are the winners for 2018. To see past winners, check out the Nurses Week Archive.

2018 Nurses Week Award Winners

Andy Ramos, RN
Nurse of the Year

Joanne Clinton, RN
Caring Nurse

Shannon Queen, RN
Trusted Nurse

Theresa Slicher, RN
Advancing Practice

Elizabeth Cooney, RN
Rookie of the Year

Gulzat Widmark
Tech of the Year

Ebony Thompson
Tech of the Year Runner-Up

Ceci Pukacz, BSN, RN
DAISY Nurse Leader